Best for Puzzles

Best for crosswords, codewords, sudoku & other puzzles, games and trivia

Crossword Reference

Wimbledon Champions: Men's Singles

The Championships were first played under the control of the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in 1877 at a ground near Worple Road, Wimbledon; the only event held was Gentlemen's Singles. In 1884, the All England Club added Ladies' Singles and Gentlemen's Doubles. Ladies' Doubles and Mixed Doubles were added in 1913. The Championships moved to their present location, at a ground near Church Road, in 1922.

Listed here are winners and runners-up of the men's singles tournaments since 1877.

Year Men's Singles Champion Runner-up
2015Novak Djokovic (SRB)Roger Federer (SWI)
2014Novak Djokovic (SRB)Roger Federer (SWI)
2013Andy Murray (GBR)Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2012Roger Federer (SWI)Andy Murray (GBR)
2011Novak Djokovic (SRB)Rafael Nadal (SPA)
2010Rafael Nadal (SPA)Tomás Berdych(CZE)
2009Roger Federer (SWI)Andy Roddick (USA)
2008Rafael Nadal (SPA)Roger Federer (SWI)
2007Roger Federer (SWI)Rafael Nadal (SPA)
2006Roger Federer (SWI)Rafael Nadal (SPA)
2005Roger Federer (SWI)Andy Roddick (USA)
2004Roger Federer (SWI)Andy Roddick (USA)
2003Roger Federer (SWI)Mark Philippoussis (AUS)
2002Lleyton Hewitt (AUS)David Nalbandian (ARG)
2001Goran Ivaniševic (CRO)Patrick Rafter (AUS)
2000Pete Sampras (USA)Patrick Rafter (AUS)
1999Pete Sampras (USA)Andre Agassi (USA)
1998Pete Sampras (USA)Goran Ivaniševic (CRO)
1997Pete Sampras (USA)Cédric Pioline (FRA)
1996Richard Krajicek (NED)MaliVai Washington (USA)
1995Pete Sampras (USA)Boris Becker (GER)
1994Pete Sampras (USA)Goran Ivaniševic (CRO)
1993Pete Sampras (USA)Jim Courier (USA)
1992Andre Agassi (USA)Goran Ivaniševic (CRO)
1991Michael Stich (GER)Boris Becker (GER)
1990Stefan Edberg (SWE)Boris Becker (GER)
1989Boris Becker (GER)Stefan Edberg (SWE)
1988Stefan Edberg (SWE)Boris Becker (GER)
1987Pat Cash (AUS)Ivan Lendl (CZE)
1986Boris Becker (GER)Ivan Lendl (CZE)
1985Boris Becker (GER)Kevin Curren (SAF)
1984John McEnroe (USA)Jimmy Connors (USA)
1983John McEnroe (USA)Chris Lewis (NZ)
1982Jimmy Connors (USA)John McEnroe (USA)
1981John McEnroe (USA)Björn Borg (SWE)
1980Bjorn Borg (SWE)John McEnroe (USA)
1979Bjorn Borg (SWE)Roscoe Tanner (USA)
1978Bjorn Borg (SWE)Jimmy Connors (USA)
1977Bjorn Borg (SWE)Jimmy Connors (USA)
1976Bjorn Borg (SWE)Ilie Nastase (ROM)
1975Arthur Ashe (USA)Jimmy Connors (USA)
1974Jimmy Connors (USA)Ken Rosewall (AUS)
1973Jan Kodes (CZE)Alex Metreveli (USSR)
1972Stan Smith (USA)Ilie Nastase (ROM)
1971John Newcombe (AUS)Stan Smith (USA)
1970John Newcombe (AUS)Ken Rosewall (AUS)
1969Rod Laver (AUS)John Newcombe (AUS)
1968Rod Laver (AUS)Tony Roche (AUS)
1967John Newcombe (AUS)Wilhelm P. Bungert (GER)
1966Manuel Santana ESPDennis Ralston (USA)
1965Roy Emerson (AUS)Fred Stolle (AUS)
1964Roy Emerson (AUS)Fred Stolle (AUS)
1963Chuck McKinley (USA)Fred Stolle (AUS)
1962Rod Laver (AUS)Marty Mulligan (AUS)
1961Rod Laver (AUS)Chuck McKinley (USA)
1960Neale Fraser (AUS)Rod Laver (AUS)
1959Alex Olmedo (USA)Rod Laver (AUS)
1958Ashley Cooper (AUS)Neale Fraser (AUS)
1957Lew Hoad (AUS)Ashley Cooper (AUS)
1956Lew Hoad (AUS)Ken Rosewall (AUS)
1955Tony Trabert (USA)Kurt Nielsen (DEN)
1954Jaroslav Drobny (EGY)Ken Rosewall (AUS)
1953Vic Seixas (USA)Kurt Nielsen (DEN)
1952Frank Sedgman (AUS)Jaroslav Drobný (EGY)
1951Dick Savitt (USA)Ken McGregor (AUS)
1950Budge Patty (USA)Frank Sedgman (AUS)
1949Ted Schroeder (USA)Jaroslav Drobný (EGY)
1948Bob Falkenburg (USA)John Bromwich (AUS)
1947Jack Kramer (USA)Tom Brown (USA)
1946Yvon Petra (FRA)Geoff Brown (AUS)
1940-45No competition - World War II
1939 Bobby Riggs (USA)Elwood Cooke (USA)
1938 Don Budge (USA)Bunny Austin (UK)
1937 Don Budge (USA)Gottfried von Cramm (GER)
1936 Fred Perry (UK)Gottfried von Cramm (GER)
1935 Fred Perry (UK)Gottfried von Cramm (GER)
1934 Fred Perry (UK)Jack Crawford (AUS)
1933 Jack Crawford (AUS)Ellsworth Vines (USA)
1932 Ellsworth Vines (USA)Henry Wilfred Austin (UK)
1931 Sid Wood (USA)Frank Shields (USA)
1930 Bill Tilden (USA)Wilmer Allison, Jr. (USA)
1929 Henri Cochet (FRA)Jean Borotra (FRA)
1928 René Lacoste (FRA)Henri Cochet (FRA)
1927 Henri Cochet (FRA) Jean Borotra (FRA)
1926 Jean Borotra (FRA)Howard Kinsey (USA)
1925 René Lacoste (FRA)Jean Borotra (FRA)
1924 Jean Borotra (FRA)René Lacoste (FRA)
1923 Bill Johnston (USA)Frank Hunter (USA)
1922 Gerald Patterson (AUS)Randolph Lycett (AUS)
1921 Bill Tilden (USA)Brian Norton (UK)
1920 Bill Tilden (USA)Gerald Patterson (AUS)
1919 Gerald Patterson (AUS)Norman Brookes (AUS)
1915-1918No competition - World War I
1914 Norman Brookes (AUS)Anthony Wilding (AUS)
1913 Anthony Wilding (NZL)Maurice McLoughlin (USA)
1912 Anthony Wilding (NZL)Arthur Gore (UK)
1911 Anthony Wilding (NZL)H. Roper Barrett (UK)
1910 Anthony Wilding (NZL)Arthur Gore (UK)
1909 Arthur Gore (UK)Josiah Ritchie (UK)
1908 Arthur Gore (UK)H. Roper Barrett (UK)
1907 Norman Brookes (AUS)Arthur Gore (UK)
1906 Lawrence Doherty (UK)Frank Riseley (UK)
1905 Lawrence Doherty (UK)Norman Brookes (AUS)
1904 Lawrence Doherty (UK)Frank Riseley (UK)
1903 Lawrence Doherty (UK)Frank Riseley (UK)
1902 Lawrence Doherty (UK)Arthur Gore (UK)
1901 Arthur Gore (UK)Reginald Doherty (UK)
1900 Reginald Doherty (UK)Sidney Smith (UK)
1899 Reginald Doherty (UK)Arthur Gore (UK)
1898 Reginald Doherty (UK)Lawrence Doherty (UK)
1897 Reginald Doherty (UK)Harold Mahoney (UK)
1896 Harold Mahoney (UK)Wilfred Baddeley (UK)
1895 Wilfred Baddeley (UK)Wilberforce Eaves (UK)
1894 Joshua Pim (UK)Wilfred Baddeley (UK)
1893 Joshua Pim (UK)Wilfred Baddeley (UK)
1892 Wilfred Baddeley (UK)Joshua Pim (UK)
1891 Wilfred Baddeley (UK)Joshua Pim (UK)
1890 Willoughby Hamilton (UK)William Renshaw (UK)
1889 William Renshaw (UK)Ernest Renshaw (UK)
1888 Ernest Renshaw (UK)Herbert Lawford (UK)
1887 Herbert Lawford (UK)Ernest Renshaw (UK)
1886 William Renshaw (UK)Herbert Lawford (UK)
1885 William Renshaw (UK)Herbert Lawford (UK)
1884 William Renshaw (UK)Herbert Lawford (UK)
1883 William Renshaw (UK)Ernest Renshaw (UK)
1882 William Renshaw (UK)Ernest Renshaw (UK)
1881 William Renshaw (UK)John Hartley (UK)
1880 John Hartley (UK)Herbert Lawford (UK)
1879 John Hartley (UK)Vere St. Leger Goold (UK)
1878 Frank Hadlow (UK)Spencer Gore (UK)
1877 Spencer Gore (UK)William Marshall (UK)

Best for Puzzles © 2019 - best for crosswords, codewords, sudoku & other puzzles, games and trivia